lorem ipsum bla bla


Dan Friedman
Artistic Director

Dan Friedman is the artistic director of the Castillo Theatre and its youth theatre, Youth Onstage and the associate dean of UX. He helped to found the Castillo theatre in 1984 and has served as its dramaturg since 1989. In 2010, he succeeded Fred Newman as artistic director of the Castillo Theatre. Friedman has written or co-written 15 plays, including a number that have been produced by Castillo and Youth Onstage! In addition to the acting, directing and producing he has done at Castillo, he has directed at La Mama E.T.C, the Nuyorican Poets Café and at a number of New York City colleges. He holds a doctorate in theatre history from the University of Wisconsin, and has been active in political, experimental and community-based theatre since the late 1960s. He helped to found Madison, Wisconsin’s Theatre-in-the-Park and New York City’s Theatre Collective and Workers’ Stage. He has taught theatre, public speaking and writing at Baruch College, Queensborough Community College, York College, and the Fashion Institute of Technology in New York City. He served as editor of The Cultural Politics of Heiner Müller, (Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2007), Müller in America (Castillo Cultural Center, 2003), and Still on the Corner and Other Postmodern Political Plays by Fred Newman (Castillo Cultural Center, 1998), and co-editor, with Bruce McConachie, of Theatre for Working Class Audiences in the United States, 1830-1980 (Greenwood Press, 1985). He has written for such publications as The Drama Review, Modern Drama, Communications from the International Brecht Society, and Back Stage.
  Diane Stiles
Vice President / All Stars Project of New York Programs / Managing Director, Castillo Theatre

Diane Stiles was first drawn to the Castillo Theatre as a young visual artist in the mid-1980s. After years of volunteering in every role imaginable, she joined the All Stars Project staff full-time in the late ’90s as Castillo’s managing director. In her current position Diane continues to manage all aspects of Castillo’s work, as well as overseeing the All Stars’ full portfolio of programs at its national headquarters here in New York. She received her BFA in drawing and photography from Pratt Institute, and curates the public spaces of the All Stars center when she isn’t attending to everything else.


Castillo Staff

Associate Managing Director
John Rankin, III
Theatre Sales and Fundraising Coordinator Liz Garcia
Technical Director Joseph Spirito
Youth Onstage! Program Manager Brian D. Hills
Volunteer and Intern Coordinator Craig Bannister
Production Coordinator Andy Allis

Volunteer Staff

Artistic Associates David Nackman, Marian Rich, Cathy Rose Salit
Youth Onstage! Artistic Associate Craig Pattison
Theatre Producers Madelyn Chapman, L. Thecla Farrell, Kate Henselmans, Jessica Massad, John Rankin III, Diane Stiles
Resident Costume Designer EmilieCharlotte
Resident Set & Video Designer Joseph Spirito
Box Office Manager Kate Henselmans
Box Office Coordinator Margo Grant
Membership Team Carolyn Kresky, Gail Peck, Marian Rich, Alice Rydel, Diane Stiles, Vicky Wallace
Culture Talk Producer Carolyn Kresky
Resident Directing Staff Madelyn Chapman, Mary Fridley, Dan Friedman, Gabrielle L. Kurlander, David Nackman
Music Department David Belmont, Michael Walsh
Box Office Staff Maureen Albanese, Reanisha Bartholomew, Nora Bleich, Caren Crawford, Margo Grant, Octavio Hernandez, Jeanne Ollivierre, Denise Pasour, Theresa Philips, Emily Renz, David Rodriguez, Richard Ronner, Alice Rydel, Charisse Tompkins, Marsha Weil
Costume Shop Team Nief Abraham, Airton, Donna Donnor, Lauren Feiner, John Albert Figueroa, Ashley Palacios, Yvonne Romero 
Scenic Shop Team Caitlin McGuire, Chris Nicholson, Liam Riordan, Ramik Rivers, Helen Ran, Alice Roschuni, Nelli Toth
House Staff Director Elyse Mendel
House Staff Manager Sheryl Williams
House Management Department Reanisha Bartholomew, Diane Buscemi, Caren Crawford, Jennifer Engstler, Melanie Freeman, Sandy Friedman, Bonnie Gee, Allen Harris, Lauren Jacobs, Janetta King, Emilie Knoerzer, Yvonne Lee, Tara Lewis, Kathy McKenna, Efua "Efie" McLean, Andy Moss, Chris Nicholson, Betty Reuben, Liam Riordan, Jeceita Rouse, Rebecca Schwarz, Jamela Stevens, Jessica Sun, Bernard Tarver, Tereak Thomas, Charisse Tompkins, Sheryl Williams
Cafe Manager Chris Nicholson